User Types & Permissions

💡
How to change the permissions and access levels of your users.

What Are User Types?

User types are the core way to assign permission and access levels to your users and your team.
  • Operator - this is your admin account that has access to everything on the community and operator portals.
  • Manager - the manager role also has access to both the community portal and the operator portal but has limited access to the operator portal. This is a great role for your local community managers. Managers do not have access to the following operator pages: Invoices, Plans, and Payment settings.
  • Member - this is your normal member role, which has access to your entire community.
  • Guest - this is a member with limited access. Guests can only see their account settings, their own profiles, the space booking pages (if made available to guests), and any other public pages.
 
📌
Please note that Guest and Member roles can be assigned manually to a user or triggered by the activation or expiration of a membership plan. To learn more about manually changing user types, please click here.

When do user types change automatically?

  • When a user activates their Knowork account. User type changes to Guest on the operator panel.
  • When a user purchases a plan. User type changes to Member on the operator panel.

Different statuses:

  1. Community:
      • This is a user with no active plans or guest bookings but is part of the community. This user has activated their community profile.
      • Member Status: Active; Plan Status: N/A.
      • This user has access to their username and password. They can see the community directory and also are listed within the community directory.
  1. Inactive:
      • This is a user with no memberships, membership invitations, and no bookings.
      • Member Status: Inactive; Plan Status: N/A.
      • This user does not have a username and password. The user can only see the public pages.
  1. Active:
      • This is a user that has one or more active membership plans.
      • Member Status: Active; Plan Status: At least one plan is active.
      • This user has full community access.
  1. Guest:
      • This is a user that has made a booking. After booking, this user is automatically assigned the Guest status.
      • Membership Status: Guest; Plan Status: no Active Plans.
      • This user has access to their username and password, settings, my profile, space, and company profile. The user is not displayed in the community directory.
  1. Pending:
      • This is a user with a membership plan that has been accepted and paid for but will start in the future. This user could either be a new or former member that will start/renew a membership.
      • Membership Status: Active; Plan Status: At least one plan with a future starting date is active.
      • This user has access to their username and password, settings, profile, space, and company profile. The user is displayed in the community directory once the membership plan has started.
  1. Lead:
      • This is a user with open plan invitations.
      • Membership Status: Active; Plan Status: Previously inactive user, with inactive, pending plan invitations. The user was invited to a plan but has not yet paid.
      • The user does not have a username and password. The user can only see the public pages at this given moment. Once the user accepts and pays for the plan, the user automatically becomes an Active Member and has full access to the community.
  1. Former:
      • This is a user who has plans that have expired.
      • Member Status: Inactive; Plan Status: Inactive.
      • This user has access to their username and password, settings, profile, company profile, and pages made public. The user is not displayed in the community directory.
 

If you have questions, please get in touch with our team at help@knowork.co. Or click the question mark icon at the bottom right and fill out a ticket.